Salalah, The honouring ceremony of the 10th

version of the Arab Tourism Media Awards 2018 was held in Salalah

this evening under the patronage of Abdulaziz bin Mohammed al-

Rowas, Advisor to His Majesty the Sultan for Cultural Affairs. The

ceremony was organised by the Arab Center for Tourism Media


The Advisor to His Majesty the Sultan for Cultural Affairs

expressed his thanks to the ACTM role in inviting media professionals

and those interested in tourism to share ideas, disseminate peace

among peoples and promote tourism in the Arab countries.

The ceremony included an introductory presentation on the

Arab Center for Tourism Media.

At the end of the ceremony, the chief guest honoured the

winning individuals, organisers, sponsors and government and private

institutions that won the 33 awards of the Arab Tourism Media 2018.

More than 1.5 million people took part in the selection of winners

of the Arab Tourism Media Awards 2018 through electronic voting. 187

participants from 14 Arab countries competed for the awards. The

Sultanate, Saudi Arabia and the Egypt topped the winners.

The Sultanate won several Arab tourism media awards. The

Ministry of Tourism won the best tourism authority to achieve growth in

the tourism sector in 2017. The Public Authority for Radio and

Television (PART) won the best Arab media authority that supports local

and Arab tourism for 2017. Oman Newspaper won the award of the

best Arabic newspaper in the tourism coverage for 2017 and Muscat

city was awarded the best Arab tourist city for 2017.

Salalah Tourism Festival won the best Arab tourism festival for

2017. Sheikh Salim bin Oufait al-Shanfri, Head of Dhofar Municipality

received the award of the best government figure supporting Arab

tourism for 2017. Sheikh Salim bin Ahmed al-Ghazali, Chairman of the

Board of Director of the Golden Holding Group won the award of best

investor who supports Arab tourism for 2017. Salam Air won the best

airliner that supports Arab tourism for 2017.

Princess Dana Firas from the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

won the title of the Arab heritage personality. Dr. Taleb al-Rifai, former

Secretary General of the World Tourism Organization won the title of

Tourism Personality of the Year.

As for the results of the winners in the Arab countries, the award

was given to the best journalist Ahmed al-Zahrani from Saudi Arabia, in

equal share with Amin Belhia from Algeria. The best female writer

award went to Jocelyn Elia from the Lebanese newspaper Al-Sharq

Al-Awsat, with the writer Mayada Saif from the Egyptian Al-Alam Al

Youm newspaper. The best director award went to Norhan al-Bili from


Bahrain News Agency (BNA) won the award of the best Arab

news agency. The photographer Mohammad al-Yafei from Qatar

received the best photo award. The programme “Busat Al Reeh” from

Sudan won the best radio show. The best tourism website award went

to “Arab Tourist.”

“Follow the Arabs Footsteps” programme from Saudi Arabia

won the best TV show. The Algerian tourism webpage for Mohy

Eskandar won the best tourist website on Facebook. Ibrahim Sarhan

from Saudi Arabia won the best account on Twitter.

The event comes within the framework of the promotional plan

of the Arab Center for Tourism Media, in cooperation with the Ministry of

Tourism, the Ministry of Information and Dhofar Municipality to highlight

the Sultanate as an Arab tourist destination.

The honouring ceremony was attended by ministers, honourable

members of the State Council, members of Majlis A’Shura and officials.

Source: Oman News Agency