Muscat, Upon the directives of His Majesty Sultan Haitham Bin Tarik, the Shura Council today opened the third annual sitting of its 9th Term (2019-2023).

The first session, chaired by Khalid Hilal Al Maawali, Chairman of the Shura Council, saw the opening of candidacy to membership of the Shura Council’s Office and posts of heads and deputy heads of committees.

Out of 16 candidates who contested the Shura Council’s Office membership, six emerged as winners: Nasser Sultan Al Habsi, Jihad Abdullah Al Fannah, Ammar Salim Al Saadi, Badr Nassir Al Jabri, Malik Hilal Al Yahmadi and Abdullah Musallam Al Rasbi.

The following were voted as indicated below:

Hilal Hamad Al Sarmi as head of the Health and Environment Committee, Dr. Hamoud Ahmed Al Yahya’ee as head of the Services and Social Development Committee, Jamal Ahmed Al Abri as head of the Education and Research Committee, Abdullah Ahmed Al Malik as head of the Food Security Committee, Ali Ahmed Al Maashani as head of the Information and Culture Committee, Younis Ali Al Mantheri as head of the Youth and Human Resources Committee, Ahmed Said Al Sharji as head of the Economic and Financial Committee and Dr. Mohammed Ibrahim Al Zadjali as head of the Legislative and Legal Committee.

The Shura Council will tomorrow hold a session on the State Budget draft for the fiscal year 2022, topics of ministerial statements, panel plans, discussion requests and government proposals.

Source: Oman News Agency