Madrid, The finalists are already known for

FIFA’s ‘The Best’ awards in 2018, and Lionel Messi is nowhere to be


Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah, the same

trio as in UEFA’s Player of the Year award, which was won by Modric,

are the candidates for the best player of the 2017/18 season.

The three players have achieved collective titles over the past

season and have also been major players for their national teams.

A continuation of the extinct ‘FIFA Ballon d’Or,” The Best’ is

awarded with votes from players, coaches, journalists and supporters

through FIFA’s website.

Already focused on his new team, Cristiano Ronaldo had an

outstanding season at Real Madrid, scoring 44 goals and providing

eight assists in 44 matches.

A fourth Champions League was achieved, thanks to his

performances against Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) and Juventus.

He also scored four goals with Portugal at the World Cup,

including a memorable hat-trick against Spain.

After his arrival at Liverpool, the Egyptian star Mohamed Salah

caught fire, scoring 44 goals and providing 16 assists. He also led his

national team to their first World Cup finals in 28 years.

A key player for the Liverpool in their run all the way to the

Champions League final where he was injured after a clash with Real

Madrid captain, Sergio Ramos. He managed to return in time to play

the last two games of the group stage at the World Cup.

Modric, a recent winner of the ‘UEFA Player of the Year’ award,

has had a dream year with both Real Madrid and Croatia.

The midfielder was the axis of Real Madrid team on the road to

conquering their 13th Champions League, and with Croatia, he guided

his country to the greatest success in their history by reaching the

World Cup final. He was named the World Cup MVP.

Under the name of ‘The Best’ created in 2016, Ronaldo won

both editions.

Previously, known as the ‘FIFA Ballon d’Or’ award since 2010, it

was exclusively won by Messi and Ronaldo.

The Argentine triumphed in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, and the

Portuguese in 2013 and 2014.

Prior to that, the best player of the season award was called

‘FIFA World Player’ and was held from 1988 to 2009, Marco van Basten

being the first winner and Messi the last.

Winners of ‘The Best’:

5 -: Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

3 -: Ronaldo Nazario, Marco van Basten and Zinedine Zidane.

2 -: Ronaldinho and Lothar Matthaus.

1 -: Roberto Baggio, Romario, George Weah, Rivaldo, Luis Figo, Fabio

Cannavaro and Kaka, the Spanish MARCA newspaper reported.

Source: Oman News Agency