Muscat, As part of its ongoing session, the Supreme Committee tasked with tacking developments resulting from coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic held a meeting today under the chairmanship of Sayyid Hamoud bin Faisal al-Busaidi, Minister of Interior, to discuss updates about the pandemic, measures of protection against the virus and ways to curb its spread.


The Supreme Committee studied the impact of the global epidemiological situation on health systems in different countries of the world, particularly amid the spread of mutated variants of the virus linked to travel. In this context, the Committee pondered over the potential risks lest the new strains might prevail in the Sultanate and exert pressure on its health establishments—a likely possibility indicated by local reports and PCR tests conducted on incoming passengers.


To protect individuals and society and to safeguard the outcome of efforts made over the past period, the Supreme Committee decided to suspend incoming flights from ten countries, which are: Sudan, Lebanon, South Africa, Brazil, Nigeria, Tanzania, Ghana, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Ethiopia, in addition to arrivals from any other country if the travelers happened to have visited the above-mentioned ten countries within 14 days before applying to enter the Sultanate.


The ban takes effect from 12 a.m. of next Thursday and continues for a period of 15 days. An exemption is granted to Omani citizens, diplomats and health workers and their families who all have to undergo the usual approved health procedures governing entry to the Sultanate.

The Supreme Committee urges all citizens and residents to avoid travel abroad, except under extreme necessity.


The Committee prays to the Almighty Allah to protect all people against all harm.


Source: Oman News Agency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *